skip to main content
Chattanooga Hamilton County Retired Teachers Association (CHCRTA)

The Chattanooga Hamilton County Retired Teachers Association (CHCRTA) is a local unified organization of retired teachers/educators that was established on May 16, 1957 as the first retired teachers association in the state. The state retired association followed on October 25, 1957. CHCRTA is affiliated with the Tennessee Retired Teachers Association (TRTA) and National Education Association Retired (NEA-Retired).

2017 - 2019 Officers

President Sharon Vandargriff 423.595.6070
President-Elect Marilyn Spickard 423.653.6111
Past President Ron Moss 423.892.4281
Secretary Johnnie B. Bone 423.622.5278
Treasurer Pat Whitaker 423.892.4084
Membership Faye McCullough 423.304.9425











The purpose of the Chattanooga Hamilton County Retired Teachers Association shall be to promote:

  • Pertinent educational lectures and demonstrations.
  • Discussion groups on timely subjects.
  • Mutual exchange of programs and experiences with State and National Retired Teachers Associations.
  • Regular periodic meetings of stimulating nature in keeping with the interests of the group.
  • Community participation, pre-retirement planning, informative and protective services.
  • Spirit of fellowship.
  • Legislative action at the Local, State, and National levels for the improvement of living conditions for older Americans.


All content © 2018 Hamilton County Department of Education. All rights reserved.
3074 Hickory Valley Road, Chattanooga, TN 37421 | 423-498-7020
Annual Notice of Non-Discrimination