skip to main content
Accountability & Testing

Dr. Kirk Kelly ~ Interim Superintendent

The Accountability and Testing Department is responsible for state reporting in terms of student achievement, student attendance monitoring, tracking and evaluation of student data, as well as management of the student database. This department also handles all testing guidelines, implementation, shipping, coordination and distribution of state and federal tests.


Applicable Federal/State Law

These tests are administered in accordance with the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) of 2015 and T.C.A §49-1-602 pertaining to district and school accountability.  Modified assessments in Braille and large print are also provided in accordance with the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 and Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 1990.


Home Schooled students who are in 5th grade, 7th grade, Algebra I, or Biology I and have registered with the Student Services Department at Hamilton County Department of Education are required to take TCAP tests.  Please review the Hamilton County's TCAP Testing Schedule links below to see which tests are applicable.  Letters will be sent with additional information.


The links below will provide information regarding all tests administered to Hamilton County students.  Should you have any questions, feel free to contact a member of our department.

Hamilton County's TCAP Testing Schedule

Hamilton County's District Assessments

ACT Assessments

Hamilton County's NAEP Schools

State Testing Information (External Website)

NAEP Assessment (External Website)

PISA Assessment (External Website)



Dr. Kirk Kelly, Director, Accountability and Testing
Office: (423) 209-8603

Cheryl Ladd, Data Specialist
Office: (423) 209-8536

Katharine Clem, E-Reporting Statistician
Office:  (423) 209-8415

Dr. Hua Lv, Data/Research Analyst
Office: (423) 209-8507

Sharon McDarmont, Administrative Assistant
Office: (423) 209-8603

Brian Seay, Power School Supervisor
Office: (423) 209-8444

Darlene Johnson, Power School Administrator
Office: (423) 209-8576

Janet Rains, Power School Administrator
Office: (423) 209-8568


All content © 2017 Hamilton County Department of Education. All rights reserved.
3074 Hickory Valley Road, Chattanooga, TN 37421 | 423.209.8400