Calvin Donaldson Environmental Science Academy receives a Level 5 Banner
Posted on 08/23/2019
Level 5 Banner presentation at Calvin Donaldson

The academic success spotlight for today shines on Calvin Donaldson Environmental Science Academy in the Opportunity Zone Learning Community.  Hamilton County Schools is honoring the 45 schools in the district that earned Level 5, the highest level of student growth, with a special “championship” recognition banner. Tiffanie Robinson, District 4 representative on the Hamilton County Board of Education, presents the banner to the students and staff at Calvin Donaldson.

Student academic growth in Hamilton County Schools showed historic levels of improvement, according to the 2019 Tennessee Value-Added Assessment System (TVAAS), that measures academic growth for districts and schools using a range from Level 1 to Level 5. For the first time, the district's overall composite and each subject area achieved Level 5 - the highest level of academic growth. The subject areas are literacy, numeracy, social studies, and literacy and numeracy.  The district had 45 schools earn a Level 5, which is almost double the number of Hamilton County schools that received a Level 5 last year. There were 21 schools also earning Level 5 in all five subject areas.

Not only did our schools exceed growth expectations, but 80 percent of teachers in Hamilton County Schools also met or exceeded student growth expectations scoring Level 3 or higher. 

Another historic accomplishment for the district was 32 schools achieving Reward status - the top distinction a school can earn in Tennessee. 

Level 5 Performers

Harrison Bay Learning Community – Ooltewah Elementary, Bess T. Shepherd Elementary, Lakeside Academy, Snow Hill Elementary, Wallace A. Smith Elementary, Wolftever Creek Elementary. Missionary Ridge Learning Community - Apison Elementary, Chattanooga School for the Liberal Arts, East Brainerd Elementary, East Hamilton Middle/High, East Ridge Elementary, East Ridge Middle, East Ridge High, East Side Elementary, Hamilton County Collegiate High at Chattanooga State, Tyner Middle Academy, Tyner Academy, Westview Elementary. North River Learning Community - Allen Elementary, Big Ridge Elementary, Daisy Elementary, DuPont Elementary, Hixson Elementary, Hixson Middle, Hixson High, Loftis Middle, McConnell Elementary, Middle Valley Elementary, Sale Creek Middle/High, Soddy Elementary. Opportunity Zone Learning Community – Calvin Donaldson Environmental Science Academy, Clifton Hills Elementary, East Lake Elementary. Rock Point Learning Community - Alpine Crest Elementary, Chattanooga School for the Arts and Sciences Upper, Lookout Mountain Elementary, Red Bank Elementary, Red Bank Middle, Red Bank High, Rivermont Elementary, Thrasher Elementary. Charter Schools – Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy, Chattanooga Charter School of Excellence, Chattanooga Charter School of Excellence Middle, and Chattanooga Preparatory School.