HCS Accelerates in Achievement and Growth
Posted on 08/23/2023
HCS Accelerates in Achievement and Growth

Hamilton County Schools (HCS) values putting students at the center, leading to positive student learning outcomes on state assessments. HCS students far exceeded the state’s academic growth standard for the year, earning the top designation of being a Level 5 school system.

Earlier this year, the district announced continued improvements in proficiency from TNReady results. The newly released Tennessee Value-Added Assessment System (TVAAS) data adds to the district's expanding record of academic achievement, showing that the students in Hamilton County are growing significantly faster than their peers across the state.

"I am incredibly proud of our students and staff," said HCS Superintendent Dr. Justin Robertson. "At Hamilton County Schools, we believe all students can learn, and we are tasked with creating the conditions, resources, and opportunities for strong learning to occur. Today’s TVAAS results highlight the effectiveness of our teachers and their dedication to helping children thrive by providing students with personalized learning opportunities that remove barriers."

In addition to being honored as a Level 5 district, HCS received Level 5 designation in the areas of Literacy and Social Studies, Level 4 in Science, and Level 2 in Math. The accomplishments in Literacy reflect the successful three year implementation of the new English Language Arts curriculum. While this data shows an opportunity for growth in Math, the district is confident that the implementation of a new math curriculum will begin to deliver increased growth in math learning.


These extraordinary results follow the summer release of TNReady assessment data, where HCS outperformed the state in 22 of 28 subject areas. Together, the 2023 growth and proficiency data signal that not only are Hamilton County students learning, they are learning faster.

TNReady Graph

"Our students in Hamilton County are showing exceptional growth and learning," said Dr. Sonia Stewart, Deputy Superintendent. "The combination of growth and proficiency data highlights the success of Hamilton County academics. Our teachers are providing high-quality instruction and meeting the needs of all students, and because of this, our students are meeting and exceeding academic standards. "

Twenty-seven schools in Hamilton County earned Level 5 distinction. These outstanding results are a testament to the district's commitment to academic press and personalization, which allowed schools to narrow their focus in order to accelerate student learning. The TVAAS data affirms that as a district HCS is seeing accelerated student growth and improvements in student achievement, which support the district’s goals to decrease learning gaps and move more students to proficiency. As we head into the first full year of Opportunity 2030, we believe that our commitments to Every Student Learning and Every Student Belonging will continue to drive excellence in our classrooms.

HCS Level 5 Schools:

  • Alpine Crest Elementary School
  • Apison Elementary School
  • Chattanooga High School Center for Creative Arts
  • Chattanooga Charter School of Excellence
  • Chattanooga Charter School of Excellence Middle
  • Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy
  • Chattanooga Preparatory School
  • Chattanooga School for Arts and Sciences Upper
  • Chattanooga School for the Liberal Arts
  • Daisy Elementary School
  • East Hamilton High School
  • East Lake Academy of Fine Arts
  • East Lake Elementary School
  • East Side Elementary School
  • Hixson Elementary School
  • Hixson High School
  • Loftis Middle School
  • Lookout Mountain Elementary School
  • Middle Valley Elementary School
  • Normal Park Museum Magnet School
  • Red Bank High School
  • STEM School Chattanooga
  • The Howard School
  • Tommie F. Brown Academy
  • Tyner Academy
  • Westview Elementary School
  • Wolftever Creek Elementary School