HCS, Partners Honor Teachers of the Year
Posted on 01/18/2024
HCS, Partners Honor Teachers of the Year (Chattanooga, Tennessee) - The Hamilton County Board of Education, along with community partners Bowers Automotive Group, the Chattanooga Area Schools Federal Credit Union, and the Hamilton County Schools Foundation, recognized Hamilton County Schools’ 2024 Teachers of the Year during a ceremony on January 18.

Catherine Casselman, a fourth-grade teacher at East Side Elementary; Matty Hardy, a career and technical education teacher at Normal Park Museum Magnet Upper; and Olivia Kane, a chemistry and biology teacher at The STEM School, were honored for their outstanding work as the district’s top teachers for the year. In addition to public recognition, the teachers received the use of a car for a year from Bowers Automotive Group and a $500 check from the Chattanooga Area Schools Federal Credit Union.

Bowers Automotive Group President Bradley Cobb reflected on the importance of teachers in the community as he announced that the Teachers of the Year would be offered the use of a new car for the coming year in recognition of their achievement.

“Other than family and church, there is not a more important group of people who can help shape our children in a positive way than teachers,” Cobb said. “Bowers Automotive Group, along with many local businesses, want to help recognize and reward these three incredible teachers for all their hard work and dedication to our children. Our goal is to help enhance this program to get more applications and involvement from all the Hamilton County Teachers who make a daily commitment to our community by helping educate our kids”

Chattanooga Area Schools Credit Union President and CEO David Siatkowski presented each of the teachers with a $500 check in recognition of their achievements and thanked them for their dedication..

“Chattanooga Area Schools Credit Union is proud to partner with Hamilton County Schools, and we are proud to present $500 to each of these teachers to honor their achievements and thank them for their outstanding performance,” Siatkowski said. “It is our honor to recognize them as teachers of the year and for their dedication to their students.”

According to HCS Superintendent of Schools Dr. Justin Robertson, the involvement of community partners highlights the importance of high-quality teachers to the community.

“We are extremely proud of the accomplishments of this year’s Teachers of the Year, and we very much appreciate our community partners and the Hamilton County Schools Foundation for their contributions to honor these dedicated professionals,” Robertson said. “Strong teachers are what makes it possible for every student to learn in Hamilton County, and these teachers are a shining example of the excellence in our classrooms.”

Read more about our 2023-2024 Teachers of the Year