HCS Student Art at Chattanooga Comic Con
Posted on 10/23/2023
HCS Student Art at Chattanooga Comic Con

Chattanooga, Tenn.- Hamilton County Schools students participated in Chattanooga Comic Con on October 21-22, 2023. Students from schools across the district submitted their comic book-inspired artwork to be showcased.

Chattanooga Comic Con is an annual event that brings pop culture fandom to the Scenic City. The Con brought in a wide range of guests, including celebrities, comic book artists, cosplayers, and vendors from all over the world. This year, Hamilton County Schools students were invited to participate in a unique way.

Cormac McCracken (seen in photo), a fourth-grade student at Battle Academy, stood proudly in front of his original comic book titled Kassaranda - The Supervillain. When asked why he entered the contest, Cormic said, “I make a lot of comics at home, and I wanted to share my love of comics with everyone!”

“Every school in the district could submit up to 10 students to showcase their artwork,“ said Kelly Shimel, HCS Fine Arts Coordinator. “Every participating student received a free pass for themselves and a parent to attend. The art teachers at participating schools also received a complimentary pass.” Shimel went on to say, “Professional comic artists judged the artwork, and the high school category was awarded prizes from Chattanooga Comic Con.” Silvia Albu, who won in the Elementary School division, was surprised to win an award for creating something she loves. “I did this for fun, and I won something?! I felt really proud and accomplished.” Students were eligible to place Top 3 in several categories including Elementary, Middle, High, Comic Books, and 3D Sculptures.


  •  Silvia Albu (Battle Academy)
  • Landry Bruggink (Hixson Middle School)
  • Julia Bushey (Ooltewah High School) *Best in Show
  • Sharon Cheng (Soddy Daisy High School)
  • Aaralyn Cox (Dupont Elementary School)
  • Lillian Flis (Battle Academy)
  • Mia Garcia Rosen (Nolan Elementary School)
  • Alicia Guo (CSAS)
  • Isabella Martinez (Dupont Elementary School)
  • Hassidy Neal (Red Bank High School)
  • Christian Parton (Early Tech at Sequoyah)
  • Travis Perez (Dupont Elementary School)
  • Ashley Plamvirge (Sale Creek Middle High School)
  • Genesis Rivera Guzman (Ooltewah High School)
  • Olivia Turpin (CSAS)

**Winners are listed alphabetically by last name

Click here to view the artwork.